Figure Review – ???

Before my next tour out, I got something in the mail.  Now what could it be?

Hmm, don’t remember having my figures from AX being sent individually…

Wait a second…those words look familiar…

Can it possibly be!?

OMG it is!

Wow, I totally forgot to take a picture of it still inside the box.

All bullshit aside, this is actually a used Saber Lily figure that I just happened to see on ebay at the right time after deciding I would be purchasing Distant Avalon no matter what.  Initially, I was a bit skeptical about buying it from ebay due to how many counterfeits are out, so I asked for a few more pictures from the seller to confirm it’s legitimacy.  He obliged and I was able to score the figure for $300 with free shipping.  I actually was expecting it to come tomorrow while I was away but I guess I got lucky…and it doesn’t hurt Los Vegas, Nevada really isn’t that far away.

I’ve stated before I’ve wanted to get one of these since Fate/Unlimited Codes came out and I’m more than thrilled to have been able to get even a used one.  Granted, I haven’t done an incredibly detailed look of the figure yet, so I’m sure there might be a few dirty spots here and there depending on how well the seller took care of the fig, but I’m happy to say she’s authentic.  Now I know I’m about 2 years late trying to review this thing, but I might as well.  I don’t have any special lighting equipment, so the pictures I’ve taken are quite frankly the best I have.  My bed is also the only good surface to take pictures of since it’s not cluttered with anything.

Saber comes with two swords, Excalibur and Caliburn, as well as Avalon.

So obviously, Excalibur can fit into Avalon…

HERPADERPA

Caliburn can’t though, due to the engravings and amount of plastic near the base.  None of it really matters, but it would’ve been interesting if it could.

Overall, the figure looks gorgeous, the flow of the skirt captures her actions in a way the Saber Lily figma cannot.  It’s quite clear that Saber Alter ~Vortigern~ took a lot of it’s inspiration from alter it terms of the skirt design.  One thing I do have to complain about is the removable hand that holds Avalon:  the empty hand version tends to fall off pretty easily.  Whether this is just wear and tear over a 2-year-old figure or if that’s how it was made is up in the air, but I notice it more with the empty hand version than the Avalon holding version, which still tends to fall off pretty easily, but manages to hold Avalon just fine.

Speaking of the Avalon holding hand, the floating effect you see in the promotional pictures is done via clear plastic peg that connects the two.  From far about 2 feet away, it’s only really visible if you’re specifically looking for it, otherwise half the time I don’t really see it.Come at me, King of Heroes.

There is one more rather major complaint that I’ll make about the figure, which after some googling, turns out every owner of this figure has.  As you can see hear, Caliburn is held in a looped hand, meaning you need to slide the handle of Caliburn through it so she may hold it.  It’s actually not hard at all, and again reminds me a lot of the figma version.

The problem comes in trying to put Excalibur in her hand.  I stated in my Vortigern review that Excalibur did not fit into Saber Alter’s hand unless you removed the bottom little peg on the hilt, in which you could slide in the sword and put the peg back on when it snug inside.  Turns out this design came AFTER this figure’s release, since this Excalibur does that have such a thing: I spent a good 2 minutes seeing if I could pull the bottom part out, another few minutes searching the box wondering if the seller forgot to put in the instruction manual, and finding out from other reviews that the fig has no instruction manual.  The only way to get Saber to hold Excalibur is to force it down her hand, and while it’s possible, I’m afraid of scratching the paint on the hand or the hilt, as well as damaging the hand overall.  Hence, she’ll be holding Caliburn for the forseeable future, especially since I might have to move around a lot depending on my work circumstances.  Nothing wrong with it really, though I do desire to one day take a picture of her holding Excalibur.

That pretty much covers it.  Now for some fun stuff…open this in another tab/window and continuing reading, would you kindly…

Heaven or Hell.

Duel 1.


LET’S ROCK.

Told you I’d fucking do it.

I’m running out of room…

Now to leave and not see her for 5 days…why does this always happen. ;_;

-Jay

About Jay

I'm the strongest woman in the world!
This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Figure Review – ???

  1. What’s up mates, good article and pleasant arguments commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  2. Filomena says:

    Howdy I am so grateful I found your site, I
    really found you by error, while I was searching on
    Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say
    thanks for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it
    all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  3. Vaughn says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the
    info!

  4. May I just say what a relief to uncover someone that genuinely knows
    what they’re talking about on the net. You actually realize how
    to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people have
    to check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised you are not more popular given that you definitely have the gift.

  5. This is the best way to see if you stand a chance or not.
    Winning your ex back may seem complicated, but if you
    seriously want to do this, don’t give up too easily. There are
    other benefits from taking some time off as well.

  6. Even if an alpha male is in a room full of unknown people, he will not even for a second feel insecure and nervous.

    I guess you could call it the attraction loss trap, because that’s exactly the result.

    This courtyard also divided the back yard from the garage so that
    we could come and go without the dog escaping the yard when the electric garage door
    was opened.

  7. Karl says:

    I have read several excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how a lot effort you place to create the
    sort of excellent informative web site.

  8. My brother suggested I would possibly like this website.

    He was once totally right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t believe just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

